News & media > News >

Use of third party photographs without permission

Vanessa Bouchara

Updated January 24, 2021
Use of third party photographs without permission

The photographs are considered, according to article L.112-2 9° of the Intellectual Property Code as being works of the mind.

L Photographers can therefore benefit from protection for their works under the Copyright according to articles L.111-1 and following of the Intellectual Property Code, on condition that they can justify the originality of these photographs. Jurisprudence assesses the originality of photographs by taking into account many criteria such as, for example, the angles of view, the framing, the play of lights, the colors, the staging, the choice and the position of the model. The Judges will also check whether the originality of the photographs results from a deliberate choice and not imposed, " beyond the know-how of a professional photographer (Cass., Civ., 1time, May 15, 2015 No. 13-27.391, TGI Paris, 3th Bedroom, 2th section, 22 September 2017 no. 2016/04325).

Conversely, the photograph will not be considered original if it constitutes " the banal recovery of a common fund that cannot be appropriated (TGI Paris, 3rd ch., 1st sect., May 21, 2015 No. 14/03863).

In a decision of September 22, 2020, the deputy mayor and the municipality of Hénin-Beaumont were summoned by the publishing newspaper La Voix du Nord for having published on social networks an article as well as a photo published in the Voix du Nord newspaper.

However, the Court of Appeal did not consider the disputed photograph to be original since it represented a person " taken on the spot, during a public meeting, without the photographer having been able to impose his choices as to his placement, his attitude or his pose and that the chosen focal length was simply a matter of adjustment and not of creative and aesthetic choices.

As a result, the taking of the photograph by the deputy mayor and the municipality does not constitute an act of counterfeiting of copyright (CA Paris, Pôle 5, chamber 1, September 22, 2020, n° 18/19018).

More recently, the Court of Appeal of Aix en Provence dismissed a photographer's action for infringement of copyright brought against his former employer for the use of his photos of roses on his website and in its catalog without its prior agreement (CA Aix en Provence, October 21, 2021, n°21/02722).

The judges notably held that the photographer did not enjoy total freedom in the exercise of his activity, the photographs being taken for a purely commercial purpose of presentation/promotion of the roses, on behalf of his employer, who decided on the framing, light and depth of field.

The plaintiff asserted that beyond their utilitarian aspect, the disputed photographs showed his personal imprint making it possible to distinguish them from his predecessors and successors.

However, the appeal judges hold that:

"only the evolution of shooting techniques gives the photographs of the 1980s a slightly different aspect from those reproduced later, which shows not a new artistic orientation, but a simple improvement in shooting equipment" and " it is therefore right that, after having noted the impossibility of distinguishing the photographs taken by [the plaintiff] from those produced by his predecessors and successors, the first judges were able to deduce that the evidence by Mr. X of the originality of each photograph claimed by him was not reported; it is therefore appropriate to confirm the impugned judgment.”

According to CJEU, the imprint of the author's personality is assessed according to " (…) his creative capacities during the realization of the work by making free and creative choices”  (ECJ, 1er December 2011, aff. C-145/10).

The assessment of the originality of the photographs by the Judges is therefore made on a case-by-case basis and remains rather random.

In addition, the Court of Cassation recalled, in a judgment dated October 21, 2020, that when the original character of several photographs is claimed, the judges must “carry out a separate examination of each of the photographs in question and (…) and assess their respective originality, grouping them, if necessary, according to their common characteristics” (Cass., Civ., 1time, October 21, 2020, No. 19-16.193).

The Court of Cassation had indeed criticized the Court of Appeal for having simply recognized the originality of the photographs in a global manner without specifying how each of the works was original.

As soon as the originality of the photograph is characterized, any unauthorized use by a third party constitutes an infringement according to article L.122-4 of the Intellectual Property Code, thus infringing the economic and moral rights of the photographer provided for in articles L.121-1 and L.122-1 of the Intellectual Property Code.

Jurisprudence is regularly called upon to pronounce on the unauthorized use of photographs by third parties, whether the photographs are used directly by the photographers, or granted in Licence to companies in charge of managing their rights, such as Getty Images, Shutterstock, Corbis, etc.

By way of illustration, the Court of Appeal considered, with regard to a photograph of a princely family intended to illustrate a greetings card, that the personal choices of the photographer, in particular, the choice of an image structured, posed, sober and neat, the choice of standardization of color and clothing codes and the choice of lighting gives this shot a specific physiognomy which distinguishes it from other shots of the same genre, and undeniably translates, beyond a certain know-how in the service of an idea of modernity and family happiness, an aesthetic bias marked by the personality of its author (CA Paris, Pôle 5, Chambre 1, February 19, 2014, RG nº 12/16340) .

Consequently, the use of this photograph outside the authorized framework constitutes an infringement of the photographer's rights and an infringement of his moral rights, in particular the right to paternity, due to the reproduction of this photograph in the press without mentioning the names and qualities of its author.

Moreover, constitutes an infringement of the right to respect for a photographer's work, in particular an attack on the integrity of a photograph, the reproduction of this photograph in the press, when it has been slightly cropped on the left side and partially masked in the lower part, on the right side, by the representation of a greatly enlarged ring.

In a judgment rendered by the Court of Cassation, a photographer claimed Copyright on photographs representing works of art which have been taken, without his consent and without mentioning his name, in digitized form in an online auction catalog by the company Artprice.com (Cass., Com., 5 April 2018 n°13-21.001).

The Court of Cassation then recognized the originality of the photographs of the works of art, in particular because of the “aesthetic search for the positioning of each of the objects represented (…) by framing on a detail, or even by positioning several objects on the same photograph, (…) thus creating a “particular dynamic” .

Concerning the allocation of damages in compensation for the moral prejudice of the photographer due to the absence of mention of the photographer's name, the Court of Cassation quashed the decision of the Court of Appeal insofar as it did not not specify exactly “the number of uncredited and modified photographs taken into account”.

In another case, a photographer, claiming Copyright on three photographs representing a hotel, assigned the companies having reproduced the said works, without his authorization and without his name being mentioned, in a press file, on a presentation card as well as in various blogs.

After an analysis of each of the photographs, the Tribunal de grande instance of Paris deemed them to be original.

He then retained acts of counterfeiting of the three photographs as well as an attack on the authorship of the photographer's works but also an attack on the works themselves because the photographs were slightly modified.

The Court also favorably accepted the request for compensation for the damage of the photographer linked to the loss of opportunity to be able to sell his original photographs (TGI Paris, 3th Ch., 2th sec., 22 September 2017).

Consequently, it is advisable to be particularly vigilant and not to use a photograph, whatever the support on which the use is envisaged, without being certain of not harming the holder of rights or the company which has in responsible for the use of said photographs.

Recent news

The availability of the sign

Updated on 07/01/2021

To be registered as a trademark, the chosen sign must, in addition to being lawful and distinctive, be available(…)

How can a banal brand become notorious or not, VENTEPRIVEE.COM a future textbook case?

Updated on 16/12/2021

The VENTE PRIVEE.COM trademark was adopted without the holder apparently asking itself the question of its distinctive character (...)

Under what circumstances can a competitor lawfully use a third party's trademark on the Internet?

Updated on 16/12/2021

The brand has the power to federate customers. Impulsively, instinctively, thoughtlessly. Sometimes, blind (...)

The use of a third party's product in an advertisement: the assessment of the accessory nature by the Courts.

Updated on 23/12/2021

It often happens that advertisers use in their advertisements products from third-party companies that are creations protected by copyright (…)

Actus & medias > Actualités >

L’usage de photographies de tiers sans autorisation

Vanessa Bouchara

Mise à jour le 24 janvier 2021
L’usage de photographies de tiers sans autorisation

Les photographies sont considérées, selon l’article L.112-2 9° du Code de la propriété intellectuelle comme étant des œuvres de l’esprit.

L es photographes peuvent donc bénéficier d’une protection sur leurs œuvres au titre des droits d’auteur selon les articles L.111-1 et suivants du Code de la propriété intellectuelle, à la condition qu’ils puissent justifier de l’originalité de ces photographies. La jurisprudence apprécie l’originalité des photographies en prenant en compte de nombreux critères comme par exemple, les angles de vue, le cadrage, le jeu des lumières, les couleurs, la mise en scène, le choix et la position du mannequin. Les Juges vont également vérifier si l’originalité des photographies résulte d’un choix délibéré et non imposé, « au-delà du savoir-faire d’un professionnel de la photographie » (Cass., Civ., 1ère, 15 mai 2015 n° 13-27.391, TGI Paris, 3ème Chambre, 2ème section, 22 septembre 2017 n° 2016/04325).

A contrario, la photographie ne sera pas considérée comme étant originale si elle constitue « la banale reprise d’un fonds commun non appropriable » (TGI Paris, 3e ch., 1re sect., 21 mai 2015 n° 14/03863).

Dans une décision du 22 septembre 2020, l’adjoint au maire et la commune d’Hénin-Beaumont ont été assigné par le journal d’édition la Voix du Nord pour avoir publié sur les réseaux sociaux un article ainsi qu’une photo publiée dans le journal la Voix du Nord.

Toutefois, la Cour d’appel n’a pas jugé originale la photographie litigieuse dès lors qu’elle représentait une personne « prise sur le vif, lors d’une réunion publique, sans que le photographe n’ait pu imposer ses choix quant à son placement, son attitude ou sa pose » et que la focale retenue relevait simplement d’un réglage et non de choix créatifs et esthétiques.

De ce fait, la reprise de la photographie par l’adjoint au maire et la commune ne constitue pas un acte de contrefaçon de droit d’auteur (CA Paris, Pôle 5, chambre 1, 22 septembre 2020, n° 18/19018).

Plus récemment, la Cour d’appel d’Aix en Provence a débouté un photographe de son action en contrefaçon de droits d’auteur intentée à l’encontre de son ancien employeur pour la reprise de ses photos de rosiers sur son site internet et dans son catalogue sans son accord préalable (CA Aix en Provence, 21 octobre 2021, n°21/02722).

Les juges ont notamment retenu que le photographe ne bénéficiait pas d’une liberté totale dans l’exercice de son activité, les photographies étant réalisées dans un but purement commercial de présentation/promotion des roses, pour le compte de son employeur, lequel décidait du cadrage, de la lumière et de la profondeur du champ.

Le demandeur affirmait qu’au-delà de leur aspect utilitaire, les photographies litigieuses manifestaient son empreinte personnelle permettant de les distinguer de ses prédécesseurs et successeurs.

Or, les juges d’appel retiennent que:

« seule l’évolution des techniques de prise de vue donne aux photographies des années 1980 un aspect légèrement différent de celles reproduites ensuite, ce qui manifeste non pas une nouvelle orientation artistique, mais une simple amélioration des matériels de prise de vue » et que « c’est donc à bon droit qu’après avoir relevé l’impossibilité de distinguer les photographies prises par [le demandeur] de celles produites par ses prédécesseurs et successeurs, les premiers juges ont pu en déduire que la preuve par monsieur X de l’originalité de chaque cliché par lui revendiqué n’était pas rapportée ; il convient en conséquence de confirmer le jugement attaqué.»

Selon la CJUE, l’empreinte de la personnalité de l’auteur s’apprécie en fonction de « (…) ses capacités créatives lors de la réalisation de l’œuvre en effectuant des choix libres et créatifs »  (CJUE, 1er décembre 2011, aff. C-145/10).

L’appréciation de l’originalité des photographies par les Juges se fait donc au cas par cas et reste plutôt aléatoire.

Par ailleurs, la Cour de cassation a rappelé, dans un arrêt datant du 21 octobre 2020, que lorsque le caractère original de plusieurs photographies est revendiqué, les juges doivent « procéder à un examen distinct de chacune des photographies en cause et (…) et apprécier leur originalité respective, en les regroupant, au besoin, en fonction de leurs caractéristiques communes » (Cass., Civ., 1ère, 21 octobre 2020 n°19-16.193).

La Cour de cassation avait en effet reproché à la Cour d’appel d’avoir simplement reconnu l’originalité des photographies de manière globale sans préciser en quoi chacune des œuvres étaient originales.

Dès lors que l’originalité de la photographie est caractérisée, toute reprise non autorisée par un tiers constitue une contrefaçon selon l’article L.122-4 du Code de la propriété intellectuelle, portant ainsi atteinte aux droits patrimoniaux et moraux du photographe prévus aux articles L.121-1 et L.122-1 du Code de la propriété intellectuelle.

La jurisprudence est régulièrement amenée à se prononcer sur les reprises non autorisées de photographies par des tiers, que les photographies soient exploitées directement par les photographes, ou concédées en licence à des sociétés en charge de la gestion de leurs droits, tels que Getty Images, Shutterstock, Corbis, etc…

A titre d’illustration, , la Cour d’appel a considéré, à propos d’une photographie d’une famille princière destinée à illustrer une carte de vœux, que les choix personnels du photographe, en particulier, le choix d’une image structurée, posée, sobre et soignée, le choix d’uniformisation des codes couleurs et vestimentaires et le choix d’éclairages confère à ce cliché une physionomie propre qui le distingue des autres clichés du même genre, et traduit incontestablement, au-delà d’un savoir-faire certain au service d’une idée de modernité et de bonheur familial, un parti-pris esthétique empreint de la personnalité de son auteur (CA Paris, Pôle 5, Chambre 1, 19 février 2014, RG nº 12/16340).

Par conséquent, l’usage de cette photographie hors du cadre autorisé constitue une contrefaçon des droits du photographe et une atteinte à son droit moral, notamment au droit à la paternité, du fait la reproduction de cette photographie dans la presse sans mention des noms et qualités de son auteur.

Par ailleurs, constitue une atteinte au droit au respect de l’œuvre d’un photographe, notamment une atteinte à l’intégrité d’une photographie, la reproduction de cette photographie dans la presse, alors qu’elle a été légèrement recadrée sur le côté gauche et partiellement masquée en partie basse, du côté droit, par la représentation d’une bague fortement agrandie.

Dans un arrêt rendu par le Cour de cassation, un photographe revendiquait des droits d’auteur sur des photographies représentant des œuvres d’art qui ont été reprises, sans son accord et sans mentionner son nom, sous une forme numérisée dans un catalogue de vente aux enchères en ligne par la société Artprice.com (Cass., Com., 5 avril 2018 n°13-21.001).

La Cour de cassation a alors reconnu l’originalité des photographies des œuvres d’art en raison notamment de la « recherche esthétique de positionnement de chacun des objets représentés (…) par un cadrage sur un détail, ou encore par le positionnement de plusieurs objets sur la même photographie, (…) créant ainsi une « dynamique particulière » .

Concernant l’allocation de dommage intérêt en réparation du préjudice moral du photographe en raison de l’absence de la mention du nom du photographe, la Cour de cassation a cassé la décision de la Cour d’appel en ce qu’elle n’a pas précisé exactement « le nombre de photographies non créditées et modifiées prises en compte ».

Dans une autre affaire, un photographe, revendiquant des droits d’auteur sur trois photographies représentant un hôtel, a assigné les sociétés ayant reproduit lesdites œuvres, sans son autorisation et sans que son nom ne soit mentionné, dans un dossier de presse, sur une carte de présentation ainsi que dans divers blogs.

Après une analyse sur chacune des photographies, le Tribunal de grande instance de Paris les a jugées originales.

Il a alors retenu des actes de contrefaçon des trois photographies ainsi qu’une atteinte à la paternité des œuvres du photographe mais également une atteinte portée aux œuvres en elle-même car les photographies ont été légèrement modifiées.

Le Tribunal a également accueilli favorablement la demande de réparation du préjudice du photographe lié à la perte de chance de pouvoir vendre ses photographies originales (TGI Paris, 3ème Ch., 2ème sec., 22 septembre 2017).

En conséquence, il convient d’être particulièrement vigilant et de ne pas utiliser une photographie, quel que soit le support sur lequel l’usage est envisagé, sans être certain de ne pas porter atteinte au titulaire de droits ou à la société qui a en charge l’exploitation desdites photographies.

Actus récentes

La disponibilité du signe

Mise à jour le 07/01/2021

Pour être déposé à titre de marque, le signe choisi doit, en plus d’être licite et distinctif, être disponible(…)

Comment une marque banale peut ou non devenir notoire, VENTEPRIVEE.COM un futur cas d’école ?

Mise à jour le 16/12/2021

La marque VENTE PRIVEE.COM a été adoptée sans que le titulaire ne se pose apparemment la question de son caractère distinctif(…)

Dans quelles circonstances un concurrent peut-il utiliser de manière licite la marque d’un tiers sur Internet ?

Mise à jour le 16/12/2021

La marque possède le pouvoir de fédérer une clientèle. De manière impulsive, instinctive, irréfléchie. Parfois, aveugle(…)

L’utilisation du produit d’un tiers dans une publicité : l’appréciation du caractère accessoire par les Tribunaux.

Mise à jour le 23/12/2021

Il arrive fréquemment que les annonceurs utilisent dans leurs publicités des produits de sociétés tierces qui sont des créations protégées au titre des droits d’auteurs(…)