Unfair competition

Areas of expertise >     Unfair competition

In terms of intellectual property, unfair competition mainly consists in creating a risk of confusion with a product, a brand or any other distinctive sign of a competitor. The principle of free competition has been recognized in France since 1791 and the famous Le Chapelier law. However, this freedom must necessarily be tempered by ethical principles so that free competition is not distorted.

What is parasitism?

Parasitic competition consists of placing yourself in the wake of your competitor. It is formed when a company attempts to divert the notoriety or the efforts and investments of its competitor to its advantage, without untying the purse. Such behavior may result in practice, for example, by the use of packaging that is identical or very similar to the packaging used by a leading competitor on the market.

What is parasitism?

Parasitic competition consists of placing yourself in the wake of your competitor. It is formed when a company attempts to divert the notoriety or the efforts and investments of its competitor to its advantage, without untying the purse. Such behavior may result in practice, for example, by the use of packaging that is identical or very similar to the packaging used by a leading competitor on the market.

Qualifying conditions

Acts contrary to normal commercial practices may be sanctioned as unfair competition on the basis of civil liability (Article 1382 and 1383 of the Civil Code). This action is therefore conditioned by the existence of the 3 elements necessary for the involvement of civil liability:

A fault

Fault is often an intentional act aimed at harming a competing company. Intentionality is not an obligation. An unintentional act may constitute an act of unfair competition.

a prejudice

Fault not causing harm cannot be considered unfair competition. The damage caused to the competitor must be certain (not just presumed or alleged) and only the company targeted by the unfair competition can rely on this damage.

A causal link

There must be a causal link between the fault committed and the damage suffered. The fault must be the cause of the damage suffered: if no causal link can be established, unfair competition will not be established.

Unfair competition action

An action for unfair and parasitic competition may be joined to an action for infringement, however these two actions must remain independent.

The two actions have different objectives. The action for infringement is intended to defend intellectual property rights, while the action for unfair and parasitic competition is intended to repair the damage resulting from breaches of commercial loyalty. It is therefore necessary to be able to invoke facts of unfair competition distinct from acts of infringement to obtain compensation for the alleged damages.

The action for unfair and parasitic competition may be preferred to the action for infringement when the infringement is not certain. In this case, a civil liability action allows greater latitude in the action but poses a greater difficulty of proof.

It is a question of not standardizing situations but of considering each specific case in its entirety.

 

Unfair competition action

An action for unfair and parasitic competition may be joined to an action for infringement, however these two actions must remain independent.

The two actions have different objectives. The action for infringement is intended to defend intellectual property rights, while the action for unfair and parasitic competition is intended to repair the damage resulting from breaches of commercial loyalty. It is therefore necessary to be able to invoke facts of unfair competition distinct from acts of infringement to obtain compensation for the alleged damages.

The action for unfair and parasitic competition may be preferred to the action for infringement when the infringement is not certain. In this case, a civil liability action allows greater latitude in the action but poses a greater difficulty of proof.

It is a question of not standardizing situations but of considering each specific case in its entirety.

 

Our services

Support and follow-up

We assist and follow you in the context of:
– follow-up of filing with a bailiff in order to give a certain date to a given creation;
– filing of customs surveillance files

Representation

We represent you in the context of copyright litigation.

Concurrence déloyale

Domaines d’expertise     >     Concurrence déloyale

En matière de propriété intellectuelle, la concurrence déloyale consiste principalement à créer un risque de confusion avec un produit, une marque ou tout autre signe distinctif d’un concurrent. Le principe de la libre concurrence est reconnu en France depuis 1791 et la célèbre loi Le Chapelier. Cependant, cette liberté doit nécessairement être tempérée par des principes déontologiques pour que la libre concurrence ne soit pas faussée.

Qu’est-ce que le parasitisme ?

La concurrence parasitaire consiste à se placer dans le sillage de son concurrent. Elle est constituée dès lors qu’une société tente de détourner à son profit la notoriété ou les efforts et investissements de son concurrent, sans bourse délier. Un tel comportement pourra se traduire dans les faits, par exemple, par l’utilisation d’un emballage identique ou très proche de l’emballage utilisé par un concurrent leader sur le marché.

Qu’est-ce que le parasitisme ?

La concurrence parasitaire consiste à se placer dans le sillage de son concurrent. Elle est constituée dès lors qu’une société tente de détourner à son profit la notoriété ou les efforts et investissements de son concurrent, sans bourse délier. Un tel comportement pourra se traduire dans les faits, par exemple, par l’utilisation d’un emballage identique ou très proche de l’emballage utilisé par un concurrent leader sur le marché.

Les conditions de qualification

Les agissements contraires aux usages normaux du commerce peuvent être sanctionnés au titre de la concurrence déloyale sur le fondement de la responsabilité civile (l’article 1382 et 1383 du code civil). Cette action est donc conditionnée par l’existence des 3 éléments nécessaires à la mise en jeu de la responsabilité civile :

Un faute

La faute est souvent un acte intentionnel qui vise à nuire à une entreprise concurrente. Le caractère intentionnel n’est pas une obligation. Un acte non intentionnel peut constituer un acte de concurrence déloyale.

Un préjudice

La faute ne causant pas de préjudice ne peut pas être considérée comme de la concurrence déloyale. Le préjudice causé au concurrent doit être certain (pas seulement présumé ou prétendu) et seule l’entreprise visée par la concurrence déloyale peut se prévaloir de ce préjudice.

Un lien de causalité

Il doit exister un lien de cause à effet entre la faute commise et le préjudice subi. La faute doit être à l’origine du préjudice subi : si aucun lien de causalité ne peut être établi, la concurrence déloyale ne sera pas caractérisée.

L’action en concurrence déloyale

Une action en concurrence déloyale et parasitaire peut être jointe à une action en contrefaçon, cependant ces deux actions doivent rester indépendantes.

Les deux actions ont des objectifs différents. L’action en contrefaçon a pour objet la défense des droits de propriété intellectuelle, alors que l’action en concurrence déloyale et parasitaire a pour but de réparer les préjudices nés des atteintes à la loyauté commerciale. Il faut donc être en mesure d’invoquer des faits de concurrence déloyale distincts des actes de contrefaçon pour obtenir réparation des préjudices allégués.

L’action en concurrence déloyale et parasitaire peut être préférée à l’action en contrefaçon quand la contrefaçon n’est pas certaine. Dans ce cas, une action en responsabilité civile permet une plus grande latitude dans l’action mais pose une plus grande difficulté de preuve.

Il s’agit de ne pas standardiser des situations mais d’envisager chaque cas d’espèce dans son intégralité.

 

L’action en concurrence déloyale

Une action en concurrence déloyale et parasitaire peut être jointe à une action en contrefaçon, cependant ces deux actions doivent rester indépendantes.

Les deux actions ont des objectifs différents. L’action en contrefaçon a pour objet la défense des droits de propriété intellectuelle, alors que l’action en concurrence déloyale et parasitaire a pour but de réparer les préjudices nés des atteintes à la loyauté commerciale. Il faut donc être en mesure d’invoquer des faits de concurrence déloyale distincts des actes de contrefaçon pour obtenir réparation des préjudices allégués.

L’action en concurrence déloyale et parasitaire peut être préférée à l’action en contrefaçon quand la contrefaçon n’est pas certaine. Dans ce cas, une action en responsabilité civile permet une plus grande latitude dans l’action mais pose une plus grande difficulté de preuve.

Il s’agit de ne pas standardiser des situations mais d’envisager chaque cas d’espèce dans son intégralité.

 

Nos services

Assistance et suivi

Nous vous assistons et suivons dans le cadre :
– suivi de dépôt auprès d’un huissier afin de conférer date certaine à une création déterminée;
– dépôt de dossiers de surveillances douanières

Représentation

Nous vous reprensentons dans le cadre de contentieux relatifs aux droits d’auteur.